SciFi Model Action

The Arduino Exchange => The Arduino Exchange => Topic started by: whb64 on July 12, 2017, 02:06:37 pm

Title: Arduino A Pins
Post by: whb64 on July 12, 2017, 02:06:37 pm
Does anyone use the 'A' pins and if so what can they be used for?
Title: Re: Arduino A Pins
Post by: RossW on July 12, 2017, 04:41:10 pm
A=analog, so they're used for things like connecting a trim pot to control motor speed, for example.
Title: Re: Arduino A Pins
Post by: whb64 on July 12, 2017, 08:21:51 pm
My google-fu is out of practice lol
Before my eye surgery, other than a post here and there (mainly by typing blind, almost literally!) I haven't been able to read to do searches or anything for the past month or so.

I just found this :)
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/AnalogInputPins

Quote
Pin mapping

The analog pins can be used identically to the digital pins, using the aliases A0 (for analog input 0), A1, etc. For example, the code would look like this to set analog pin 0 to an output, and to set it HIGH:

So if I am understanding this correctly it is possible to get 6 additional outputs.  Granted we'd still have the overall amp restriction, but it does sound like we can squeeze out some extra outputs.  I'm sure people have been doing this already...  this is still new to me and still learning :)
Title: Re: Arduino A Pins
Post by: RossW on July 13, 2017, 09:27:35 am
My google-fu is out of practice lol
Before my eye surgery, other than a post here and there (mainly by typing blind, almost literally!) I haven't been able to read to do searches or anything for the past month or so.

I just found this :)
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/AnalogInputPins

Quote
Pin mapping

The analog pins can be used identically to the digital pins, using the aliases A0 (for analog input 0), A1, etc. For example, the code would look like this to set analog pin 0 to an output, and to set it HIGH:

So if I am understanding this correctly it is possible to get 6 additional outputs.  Granted we'd still have the overall amp restriction, but it does sound like we can squeeze out some extra outputs.  I'm sure people have been doing this already...  this is still new to me and still learning :)
The analog pins can be used as inputs or outputs just like the digital pins, but you can't use them to blink a LED, for example. You can only do analog things.
Title: Re: Arduino A Pins
Post by: Caladonis on July 18, 2017, 02:39:34 am
My google-fu is out of practice lol
Before my eye surgery, other than a post here and there (mainly by typing blind, almost literally!) I haven't been able to read to do searches or anything for the past month or so.

I just found this :)
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/AnalogInputPins

Quote
Pin mapping

The analog pins can be used identically to the digital pins, using the aliases A0 (for analog input 0), A1, etc. For example, the code would look like this to set analog pin 0 to an output, and to set it HIGH:

So if I am understanding this correctly it is possible to get 6 additional outputs.  Granted we'd still have the overall amp restriction, but it does sound like we can squeeze out some extra outputs.  I'm sure people have been doing this already...  this is still new to me and still learning :)


You can use them as digital pins and refer to them as 14, 15,16,17,18, and 19

Example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjEIKcxK9jM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjEIKcxK9jM)

Title: Re: Arduino A Pins
Post by: whb64 on July 29, 2017, 03:50:13 pm
My google-fu is out of practice lol
Before my eye surgery, other than a post here and there (mainly by typing blind, almost literally!) I haven't been able to read to do searches or anything for the past month or so.

I just found this :)
https://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/AnalogInputPins

Quote
Pin mapping

The analog pins can be used identically to the digital pins, using the aliases A0 (for analog input 0), A1, etc. For example, the code would look like this to set analog pin 0 to an output, and to set it HIGH:

So if I am understanding this correctly it is possible to get 6 additional outputs.  Granted we'd still have the overall amp restriction, but it does sound like we can squeeze out some extra outputs.  I'm sure people have been doing this already...  this is still new to me and still learning :)


You can use them as digital pins and refer to them as 14, 15,16,17,18, and 19

Example: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjEIKcxK9jM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hjEIKcxK9jM)
Sounds like they can be used as digital then for blinking or strobing, correct?