Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Hello, New to the site and modelling  (Read 1888 times)

Offline admiraladama

• Ensign
Hello, New to the site and modelling
« on: May 15, 2013, 04:14:17 pm »
Hello there,

My name is Adam and I'm from over here in the rainy old UK.

A little bit about my background.  I was brought up on Star Trek by my dad and I loved all of the shows, but I had a soft spot for plenty of other Sci Fi shows as well.  i've been making small model kits for a few years now Airfix/Warhammer, but after watching the latest Trek film I thought I'd give myself a bit of a challenge and try to find a nice plastic kit of some of the ships.  I had no idea that there was this level of enthusiasm for modelling starships.  The idea of lighting had never occurred to me before, and the level of detail I have seen so far has been astounding.  I watched a few of TrekWorks videos on youtube and decided: "I'm going to do that!"  I then very quickly realised that I have no experience with the electronics side so I ended up on here.

I've had a quick look around and the things I have seen are incredible. 

Now that I'm here, I'd like to get lots of advice from you, the experts.  Firstly I have no idea what size of model I should be starting on, I would love to jump in at the deep end with one of the massive 1:350 but even I am not that brave.  So where would be a good place to start?  Also what kit would I need to do all of the electronics?

I hope to learn a lot from all of you.

Adam.

dlots1701a

Re: Hello, New to the site and modelling
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2013, 04:41:07 pm »