Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
 

Author Topic: Show your modeling work station setup  (Read 512 times)

Offline whb64

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Show your modeling work station setup
« on: April 29, 2017, 04:56:29 am »
Here's mine :)

It's not as fancy or organized as a lot of you guys, but I'm just getting back into things.  I'm using a 30"x70" folding table from Wallyworld.   It was inexpensive and has plenty of room.



]








What's everyone's work area look like?
« Last Edit: August 09, 2017, 12:35:47 am by whb64 »

Offline whb64

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2017, 12:22:40 am »
Just updated my work area :)



There is less room than the 6' folding table I was using, but it's much more organized.  I have a 4' side table next to the work bench, so even though it's a smaller footprint I actually have more space now :)


Offline AnythingSciFi

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2017, 07:03:52 pm »
Here is mine!

Offline whb64

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2017, 09:18:39 pm »
That's a nice area :)

Lots of room to spread out and work on things.  I like the Lazy Susan for paint and things, good idea.

Offline AnythingSciFi

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2017, 10:10:58 pm »
That's a nice area :)

Lots of room to spread out and work on things.  I like the Lazy Susan for paint and things, good idea.

Thanks! You would be amazed how quick things can get junked up!!

Offline whb64

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2017, 10:16:28 pm »
lol no I wouldn't be surprised.  I went from a 4' folding table, to a 6' one and still had stuff all over the place.  That's when I told myself I needed better storage,  I'll be moving at some point and will finally have a dedicated room just for building models.  It's not nearly as big as what you and others have- 7'x11', but since it will be a sole purpose room I can put in shelves and storage :)

Did you build that workbench yourself?  Good work if you did.

Offline MSgtUSAFRet

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 1605
  • Fly! Fight! Win! And call me when you're back.
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2017, 07:19:01 am »
Whb64,  I'll have to admit, your upgraded bench is tons better than mine, I am drooling over Kenny's!

I've been following LynninDenver's exploits about moving and upgrading her bench, but, WOW, Kenny!

Makes me wanna go clean out my garage!!!


Steve
"To be honest with you, Picard, a significant number of my crew members have expressed a desire to return even knowing the odds. Some because they can't bear to live without their loved ones, some because they don't like the idea of slipping out in the middle of a fight."

Offline whb64

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2017, 07:18:54 pm »
Steve I've been watching Lynn's too and yeah that's impressive.  She must do client builds, if not what a sweet setup!

The bench I got was $97 at HarborFreight and it was a breeze to put together.  I liked it over the larger wood bench (I do like that one though!) because it has the back with pegboard and comes with a light and three outlets on the side.  Not bad for less than $100.  The bins were $20 and made to mount on a wall or pegboard.  If you are careful you can snap it in two pieces like I did, it was more efficient to use on the pegboard that way. 

At my new place I may make a spray booth, but I'd have to replace a window, it's an old church I am renovating and turning into a restaurant/bar and the windows are 100 plus years old and don't open.  This is my building and where I will be moving into while I work on the renovations.

If you look at the right tower, the middle set of windows on the tower is where the room is that I will use as my model room :)


From the back-  this is going to be a really cool restaurant/bar when I finish it :)


Online LynnInDenver

  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 203
    • My husband and I on YouTube - TG256
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2017, 09:03:02 am »
Steve I've been watching Lynn's too and yeah that's impressive.  She must do client builds, if not what a sweet setup!

Sometimes I wish on the client builds, and sometimes, I think, y'know, if I went that route, it may become not enjoyable to do models. ;)

Offline AnythingSciFi

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2017, 01:45:55 pm »

Sometimes I wish on the client builds, and sometimes, I think, y'know, if I went that route, it may become not enjoyable to do models. ;)

It is a lot of fun to start with. Just knowing your work is appreciated in many parts of the
world! Then, you wake up one morning and think, Damn, I have got to get that and that finished.
Another one should have already gone out and so on!!! If you don't stay on top of it things get backed up!
It does take the fun out of it! These guys that have so many client builds to do where they can't
really get to anything of their own or if they build something of their own it takes away from the time
you need to be on a clients build, well, they are not having the fun they say they are!!!

« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 05:55:22 pm by AnythingSciFi »

Offline whb64

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2017, 05:04:58 pm »
Lynn I never thought about that side of things.  You're right, it probably could/would turn something that you enjoy doing into work instead of fun.

Offline whb64

  • Captain
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2017, 05:32:45 pm »
I just picked up this...

$21.95 at CircuitSpecilists (already had a basic soldering iron, I just like this one better)
https://www.circuitspecialists.com/csi4550.html


and This from Walmart- $14.95



The soldering station is a pretty good deal if you take into account it comes with a spool of solder, which alone would cost $10-13.  If you look at it that way, the station came out to be $8.95-$11.95

CircuitSpecialists also has a pretty good deal right now on heat shrink-  $.06 for 4ft.  I got 40 feet for a whopping 60cents :)

I also got my power connectors from eBay, and my linear variable DC power supply will be here Monday.  I have a ton of resistors, LEDs, LED tape, Arduino boards ...  so I'm all set to start wiring! 
« Last Edit: August 12, 2017, 05:43:37 pm by whb64 »

Offline Tankton

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2037
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2017, 08:20:08 pm »
I used to do commission builds, it became a major headache. Put me off doing models for about ten years.
I build for myself these days the fun and creativity has returned I get to build my way.
Live Long and Prosper

Cameron Lewis Sr.

Offline AnythingSciFi

  • Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 2627
Re: Show your modeling work station setup
« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2017, 10:26:41 pm »
I used to do commission builds, it became a major headache. Put me off doing models for about ten years.
I build for myself these days the fun and creativity has returned I get to build my way.

Amen to that Cameron! My fun comes and goes.

 




Enterprise © Bloc