Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: It's Not a TMP Refit 1/350, it's a STII:WOK Refit 1/350!  (Read 598 times)

Offline FatalCheese

• Ensign
It's Not a TMP Refit 1/350, it's a STII:WOK Refit 1/350!
« on: August 12, 2017, 12:13:54 am »
Greetings All,

So I've started the quest of my TMP refit!  Actually, it's not a TMP build - it's a ST2/WOK build, so completely different, right? ;)  More on that below.

Plan is to do a 5-color Aztec paint, and will be lighting it up as well too. Have the photoetch pieces and Oribital's masks, as well as the paint guide. I actually started building a couple months ago. I'm new to modeling and really wanting to do it right, so I'm taking it slow. After spreading out all the model and all the supplies, tools, accessories I bought - I was too terrified for a week to answer the question "where do I begin?". It's also my first time using an Airbrush, so I've been experimenting and learning on NOT the model. Also wanted to get into it a little bit before I started posting, make sure it was going to happen. I'm probably $500 in it so far - so this is definitely happening. I just chuckled to myself back when I thought buying the model itself was the investment. Oh, how naive I was then!  I've started modifying the bridge as well as the arboretum - given there are so many posts about the same stuff, I won't bore everything with small steps until there is significant progress or something unique I think might be beneficial to share.

Anyways, here is part of the shuttlebay, and the defining feature of why this is the STII enterprise. I absolutely hated the color schemes of TMP - there was no way I was doing a pea green shuttlebay. I really like the blue/steel look of the "utiltiy" areas in ST2, so that's the scheme I went with.