Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Danube Class Runabout 1/70 - 3D printed  (Read 274 times)

Offline Cpt-Spekkie

• Lieutenant
Danube Class Runabout 1/70 - 3D printed
« on: September 17, 2017, 02:36:43 pm »
A couple of weeks ago i completed the second revision of a Runabout project i adapted from a 3D design i found on Thingiverse.
I always new since getting a 3D printer that using it to print a Star Trek model was only a question of time and indeed so it happend that i printed a little model of 11cm long (4.3 inches)

As i would guess every person on this forum already knows, bigger is always better! Especially when you want to light up the model and so a project was born.

As a complete noob to model making i ventured into the realm and started by adapting the design of the smaller Runabout and slicing it for printing.
Long story short, i printed, build and lid my model and once my uncle saw that model, he immediately said "I want one!". Well okay, gasp,  :o

On a second note i had got the request from the 3D printing community that they wanted to replicate my work and also build the model, so as an extra difficulty level, i needed to make my build progress repeatable for others. As if model making wasn't hard enough. Well okay, i'm a big boy, lets get started.

I've chosen to make a 5 part video series for the entire build of this Runabout and for the interested people i would suggest to watch these video's, or at least the finale to view the model in all its glory! Link to the playlist below.

The pictures i'l post here are from the build, but again the completed build is only in video, because i forgot to take a few good photo's before bringing the model to my uncle.
I do have pictures of my own Runabout but that one is by far inferior to the second revision.

Link to the video log series

The first 5 photo's are of revision one (my personal build)