Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New to model building, looking to make first build soon  (Read 58 times)

Offline Paco318

• Ensign
New to model building, looking to make first build soon
« on: December 28, 2017, 01:48:37 am »
Hello everyone,
Greetings from California!

Like the title says I'm new to model building and am looking to complete my first build soon.

For those interested here's a short account of how I found my way here. :)

I was walking through a local thrift shop earlier today hoping to maybe find some Star Trek books but found something much better. I saw a Star Trek box behind the counter and asked the clerk if I could see the box and turns out the box was a Voyager model kit. I opened the box expecting to find an incomplete model set, after all the set was almost as old as I am and the box was a bit caved in. To my surprise the set seemed to be complete with a sealed bag, instructions booklet, and decals. The original price of $35 had been marked down to $26, it must have been sitting behind the counter for a while. Being an avid Star Trek fan and excited to find anything Trek related I didn't think twice and purchased it on the spot not knowing if it was a good price.

As soon as i got home i started researching, watching youtube videos on Voyager model builds and looking through countless forum posts. I was looking though a build post on the RPF which I had joined years ago and found a link to this website and after looking through several posts I made an account knowing I had found the perfect place to share my find and seek advice from knowledgeable and friendly people.

I have no experience building models other than building a  Cylon Raider out of cardstock and super glue a few years ago.