Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New modeler and the 1:350 Refit  (Read 610 times)

Offline Wmacky

• Ensign
New modeler and the 1:350 Refit
« on: February 02, 2018, 08:49:32 am »
First time modeler here taking on  the "expereinced only" Refit.  Looks like there are a few other modelers here doing the same. I know it would be better to start small, but I'm really mainly interested in the Refit, and haven't a lot of room to display other models. I do usually get obsessed, and go all out when doing a new project, so I hope that this and lots of reseacrh / practice will be enough. 

Here's where I'm at.  I purchased 2 of the original Polar Lights kits back in 2006. One I opened, the other remains sealed.  I'm used to ( and love) big involved projects, but I have little to no modeling experience other than a few stick built RC planes. Worse than that, My eyes aren't what they used to be, and finally the big one,  I'm red / green color blind as a fair percentage of males are.  For those that don't know, and means you can see colors, including red, and green, but shades are off, and can be confusing. THis is my biggest fear regarding a multi color  aztecing. I hope that following Boyd's examples exactly, and using the correct fish paint wil allow be to scrape by?  Thoughts?

I think the best way to start is to "rewatch" boyds video series along with a few more for a different perspective, and read through a few builds here and at other forums as well for building tips as well as putting togher a list of need building equipment, and parts / supplies.  I have a small list already.  I do have some intial questions if you  pros would care to comment