Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: PL 1/350 Enterprise refit paint guide  (Read 328 times)

Offline Chuck3126

• Ensign
PL 1/350 Enterprise refit paint guide
« on: March 01, 2018, 08:33:00 pm »
Looking at purchasing the Trek Modeler 1/350 paint guide for the Polar Lights Enterprise. Any better guides or comments. Tried to find something from Boyd but had no luck. I dunno, maybe my Googlefu skills are weak. Any suggestions or pro's and con's?

Offline Decoman

• Commander
Re: PL 1/350 Enterprise refit paint guide
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2018, 12:23:46 am »
I don't think there is any better guide around, though I am no expert. I have started on the refit Enterprise in 1:350 scale myself.

One optional thing, is to either go with the blue, or the green pattern on the engineering section on each side, just below the center pylon that holds the saucer. Something about how they switched from green hues to blue hues during the making of The Motion Picture.

I am intrigued by the overall look of the white finish, as I am not quite sure how the ship is supposed to look like, imagining a more pearly white, and not some gray with bits of metallic sheen. Unsure. I am currently thinking that I would rather have a more white'ish ship, with the pearlescent/irridiscent effect ofc. Probably important to keep the surface as glossy as possible, to retain a nice sheen, making it also easier to add a gloss coat in the end, with fewer layers imo. I am also wondering if one could maybe add some kind of polish compound, to create a sheen, though just an idea. In any case, it would be a good idea to test such ideas on other parts, and not on the model itself.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2018, 12:27:42 am by Decoman »

Offline whb64

• Captain
Re: PL 1/350 Enterprise refit paint guide
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2018, 04:57:07 am »