Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: 537 refit 3D parts  (Read 453 times)

Offline WeeMoe

• Commander
537 refit 3D parts
« on: June 17, 2018, 11:11:04 am »
Found these on shapeways anyone have any experience with them?

https://www.shapeways.com/shops/wileycoyote
« Last Edit: June 17, 2018, 02:00:13 pm by WeeMoe »

Offline Tshark

• Lieutenant
Re: 537 refit 3D parts
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2018, 08:10:13 am »
I am curious as well.  These parts and the ones from DLM seem to be the only aftermarket parts for the 1/537 refit.  I was hoping that with the R2 re-pop of the kit that more parts would become available.  My next build is a smoothie Enterprise so I am already looking around.

Offline Decoman

• Commander
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2018, 11:04:35 am »
The choice of material determines the qualitative characteristics of the items, and although I am no expert, I would at least wonder how much work, if any, will be going into making the surface more smooth, as the surface I suspect won't be polished by default.

The shapeways forums will surely provide the quickest/best way to familiarize yourself with the choice of material as a potential buyer I think.

I made some tiny cannon carriages, and they were not entirely smooth (flat sides and all), I just don't remember anymore if they were made with the same material as with these Star Trek parts as discussed here.

Offline Tshark

• Lieutenant
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2018, 08:43:21 am »
After doing some extensive internet searching I went back to Don's Light and Magic for my 1/537 Enterprise refit parts.  He has a large selection and had no problem customizing my order by casting the tinted parts in clear only.  I have ordered from him before and found him reputable.  My only suggestion is order parts from him months before you need them.  It takes him awhile, but the parts are worth it.