Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register. - Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: AMT 50th Enterprise 1/650 build. *Complete newbie*  (Read 252 times)

Offline psylow

• Ensign
AMT 50th Enterprise 1/650 build. *Complete newbie*
« on: August 03, 2018, 01:43:22 pm »
Hello,
I am ready to try some more serious modeling and and starting with the above mentioned kit.  I have done modeling in the past but nothing more than gluing and decal work.  I thought this might be the proper place to document my progress and ask for help along the way.

I have been cleaning up the parts by cutting and sanding off the extra flash.  Here is my first problem.  In a few spots where the flash was very thick, I am left with sections shown in the pic below.  I would assume the way to fix this would be to paint it?  If that is the case then I should just repaint the entire thing?

« Last Edit: August 03, 2018, 01:46:14 pm by psylow »

Offline Decoman

• Commander
Re: AMT 50th Enterprise 1/650 build. *Complete newbie*
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2018, 02:00:09 pm »
Sry, there is no photo showing up here.

Did you paint the parts while them being on the sprues?

Offline psylow

• Ensign
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2018, 02:25:21 pm »
I have not painted them, the color is as is from the box.

Offline starsiegeplayer

• Admiral
  • In brightest day, in darkest night....
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2018, 08:07:07 pm »
Yes.  Painting the entire model (what we call a "base coat") is what fixes this. 

You can remove seams with putty and sandpaper before applying the base coat. 

Your models will look much better with paint.  Decals adhere much better to paint than plastic (although yiu will want to do a clear gloss coat before decals if you use a flat base coat).

Offline Decoman

• Commander
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2018, 02:17:18 am »