Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Basic Arduino coding Part 1 - Blinking LED's using delays.  (Read 3843 times)

Offline zhaith

• Commander
Basic Arduino coding Part 1 - Blinking LED's using delays.
« on: September 04, 2014, 01:38:24 pm »
Heya folks, over the last couple of weeks i've had a few PM's asking for assistance with using arduino's  for  use in model lighting, rather that just posting links to my completed code I thought it might be a nice idea to start a guide so that those interested can have a better understanding of the code I've written but to be able to expand on the code in these example so that you can customize it to exactly how you want it to work.

First of all please be aware that i'm pretty new to this so there may well be better ways of doing things than I am doing them, but it works for me and if I can help you avoid some of the problems i've encountered so far then this exercise will  be worth it. The aim is to try and provide the basics in a friendly environment, from experience i have found some of the arduino forums to be not very newbie friendly at all :(.

I'll post the complete code for each section at the end of each post so all you need to do it cut and paste it into the arduino software and upload it to your chosen type of arduino, i'm using the Uno for this but the code will work equally well on the nano and pro-mini versions.

Any feedback will be gratefully received so feel free to add comments/suggestions.

An on a final note - for examples that involve a single LED, i'll be using the on-board LED connected to pin 13, as far as i'm aware both the nano and pro-mini also have this, if yours doesn't then you'll need a LED and appropriate resistor for this.

So first up a few basics