Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Me who is I  (Read 1218 times)

Offline ABguy

• Ensign
Me who is I
« on: February 25, 2013, 09:17:27 am »
Hi
My name is actually Tom.  I am an former student now turned bum.  I had gone to school for art originally but ended up with a degree in human services... long story.  Anyway I've caught the modeling bug, saw the videos on YouTube from Trek Works and was thoroughly impressed.  I still have the old Ertl models that I put together as a kid but even back then I wanted to create a lighted model.  Heck I have an aging Excelsior model in my basement... its not in the best shape and I don't even know if it can be had anymore.

The ultimate model for me to work on would be the Enterprise refit from the motion picture.  The first time I saw that movie I was bored out of my mind, but that ship made my jaw drop.  The pearl or iridescent paint work on that hull really surprised me and to this day is what I consider to be the biggest challenge for me modeling wise.  I'm definitely not going to start there since the last time I put together a model was when I was 8 years old... Now I am 33.  I suppose that means that I can do so much more with lighting and bigger models, the reverse would be true too though in that I can make massive blundering failures.

The idea behind jumping on this site was to prevent massive failures (we still allow the small ones).  I have no experience with working with led or any electrical systems at all.  I have absolutely no equipment at this point.  Not even a workbench although I have a whole basement to put these things in. 
If I were to put myself in a stage of building it would be : making a list of things to get before building.

Offline wolf 359

• Admiral
Re: Me who is I
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2013, 11:46:38 am »
Hello, glad you joined us here. There is a ton of info here.

Offline TrekWorks

• Admin
  • Admiral
    • TrekWorks